Arts & Crafts

22 Jul

There’s something so very satisfying about making something yourself and being able to see it through from start to finish – be it making your own loaf of bread or a cake, to major house renovations or putting together IKEA furniture (a task not to be undertaken lightly). At the end of it all you can turn around and say (read: scream) “I made this!”

When it comes to crafting, I used to very rarely see things through to the end. Awful to admit I know, but I feel it’s relevant. A task would start out with enthusiasm and vigour but after a few weeks this would just disappear.

But not anymore! Well, that’s the plan. If you remember, at the beginning of the year I decided my word for 2013 would be ‘proactive’ to encourage me to get up and do things! Well, so far it’s working and I’m hoping it will continue to do so with the four – read them – four different projects I’ve got going on. Wish me luck!

  • Pike’s scarf. My childhood consisted of watching Dad’s Army on video round at my grandparents’ house. Every Saturday we would spend the mornings watching episode after episode, laughing at the strange goings on and situations the Walmington-on-Sea Home Guard found themselves in. I always wanted Private Pike’s scarf, so what better season to start knitting one? (At the time of writing it’s currently 28˚C and I’ve just been sunbathing.)
Ian Lavender (PD)

image from here

  • Friendship bracelets. I made a lot of friendship bracelets when I was younger, it’s a skill I think everyone should have – how else are you supposed to know who’s your friend or not? They brighten up any wrist and are simple and easy to make.
  • Bunting. It gives me an excuse to buy some fabulous, kitsch fabrics!
  • Flower crowns. The sun is (finally) shining and the flowers are out in abundance and wearing a floral wreath to crown your day just seems very fitting.

Having company with you when you’re crafting varies from person to person. I however, like having someone around so when Stef came over a few weeks ago it was the perfect time to get busy with our various projects and giving a second opinion to an idea the other had.

fabric2

Whether you find it relaxing, gratifying or fun, I’m glad something has re-kindled my love of crafting because, as stated before, there’s nothing better than looking at a finished project (no matter how shocking it looks or how long it took) and proudly stating: “I made that.”

Happy crafting!

About the Writer: Daisy is an irregular photographer, wannabe writer and full time female. In between tea and toast breaks she spends far too much time on the internet bloggingtumbling and tweeting. She is unapologetic in her love of the Spice Girls.

Leave a Reply

