2013: The New 2003?

10 May

If you know Catherine or I, you’ll know that we like to pretend that we’re wise, old women who had great music to listen to while we were growing up. This seemed to peak in 2003 with albums like Sleeping With Ghosts, Absolution, The Dresden Dolls, Coral Fang and E.Von Dahl Killed The Locals being released. Unfortunately we are now in a state of despair because today’s music isn’t living up to our expectations. And I don’t just mean the addition of Justin Beiber, Taylor Swift or Adele to the music scene, I mean people like Alkaline Trio and The Ataris. Musicians and bands we listened to in 2003 that have waned recently.

Untitled-1_edited-1

various images from here, here, here and here

However, recent and not so recent announcements have got me all kinds of excited for 2013 and reclaiming good music and here’s why:

-New Devil Doll album. This Facebook status from last year mentions a new album for 2013 and I couldn’t be happier. Although I preferred Queen of Pain to The Return of Eve, I’ll be interested with the sound for this album. Though both were very sexy [cold shower anyone?] Queen of Pain was jazzier than the country influenced Return of Eve. Could we have some form of country-jazz fusion? Most probably not.

-New Creepshow album. They’ve been demoing for a while and finally made the announcement a few weeks ago that they were in the studio, recording proper. Sell Your Soul and They All Fall Down are superb albums though I can’t say the same for Run For Your Life. It’ll also be interesting to hear yet another singer for the band: what will they be like without a Blackwood?

-New AFI album [if this weird video is anything to go by]. Mr Havok released a book about a month ago, which I have yet to read but hand on heart I’m more enthusiastic about their new album. Crash Love was a welcome release after December Underground [thank god for Black Audio which seems to be feeding Davey and Jade’s electro habit] though my favourite will forever be Sing the Sorrow.

-New Less Than Jake album. Their first LP of new material since GNV, FLA after the few EPs they’ve released. I’m intrigued with how they’ll sound. As I’ve mentioned before In With The Out Crowd was not an LTJ album, but GNV, FLA sounded very much like their old stuff. Hmmm… Tricky, but nonetheless I’m still looking forward to it.

-Bitter Ruin are building their own studio. They did a rather successful Kickstarter to back the new album/studio, which at the time of writing is £9,000 over their intended target of £20,000. I admit that on a first listen, their music seems a bit strange but We’re Not Dancing is a brilliant release and they’ve got such a unique sound, I’ll definitely be keeping an ear out for this one.

-New Imelda May album. After having an adorable baby in 2012, Imelda May stated she’ll be back in the studio this year and that the album will hopefully be out by the end of 2013. While I didn’t love Mayhem as much as Love Tattoo, her albums have all been solid, splendid pieces of work and I eagerly await the end of the year [not that I’m trying to wish the time away].

-New Manics album? Possibly if this status is anything to go by! Let’s not talk about Lifeblood and move swiftly on, shall we? Send Away The Tigers saw the band return to form [thank goodness] and let’s not forget their epic cover of Rihanna’s Umbrella a year later. Journal For Plague Lovers was a brave release and a fantastic album. In my head I had some preconceptions and possibly hesitations about what it would sound like but they were dashed as soon as I started listening to it. Postcards From a Young Man was good, but not as good as it’s predecessor. I’m looking forward to it, but not necessarily the limited-edition-bonus-demo-tracks-on-a-whole-other-album they seem to being doing a lot of lately…

About the writer: Daisy is an irregular photographer, wannabe writer and full time female. In between tea and toast breaks she spends far too much time on the internet blogging, tumbling and tweeting. She is unapologetic in her love of the Spice Girls.

Leave a Reply

