Beyoncé

15 Apr

Happy belated Easter lovely people! Hope you have eaten a ridiculous amount of chocolate, I know I have eaten my mum out of house at home. Back to the diet this week and I am focused and exercising in full force. I spent my double whammy bank holiday weekend camping with my family and the weather was lush and it was a really nice break. What did you all do with your Easter weekend? Let us know on Facebook and Twitter @Yellow_Bunting.

Anyway let’s move on to the nitty gritty journalism! So, in the last issue I spoke about my the difference between today’s role models and past revolutionary women. I spent a lot of time thinking about this and it saddened me that role models like Irena Sendler no longer openly exist in our society. However, we have to remember that times have changed and a lot of ideas surrounding feminine independence have changed. Due to this train of thought I have decided to commit to a little project aiming to find modern day influential female role models whose lives and actions I want to share with you guys. Over the next 10 issues, I will be dedicating my writings towards inspirational women of our society.

Now, I’m a great believer in fate and a book I’m reading at the moment has taught me to trust in chance conversations, to never treat them as coincidence and use them to inspire my work. That’s the best advice I have ever accepted in regards to writing and that’s how I found female number one…

Some of you may have watched a documentary last week about Beyoncé titled “Life is But a Dream.” I never planned on tuning in because although I do enjoy her music and her persona I’ve never been a hardcore fan of hers. However, my friend was itching to watch it and I had nothing better to do so I gave it a shot. If you haven’t watched it yet I highly recommend it because it was an amazing 90 minutes of television that for once didn’t feel like a waste of time.

Beyoncé seems like such an obvious choice I know, but from what I have seen from her in this documentary she is so much more than what I thought she was. For starters, she is a massively famous celebrity yet she strives to keep her personal life as private as possible and that in itself is such a respectable quality to have.

Having directed the documentary herself, it could be said that the truth and insight into her life may be slightly twisted but I still stand by my views that she sets herself aside from the standard celebrity lifestyle. Isabel Mohan reviews the documentary here and quotes “as a performer, she’s compared to Rihanna, but in reality, the pair are very different. While Rihanna spends her evenings partying, Beyoncé enjoys cosy chats with her girlfriends and pondering her faith in God.” In truth she is just like you and I except she has an extroverted alto ego by the name of Sasha Fierce…

One thing about her that plastered a smile across my face was the fact that all the interview footage and personal footage was taken of her without a trace of makeup on her face. That was such a graceful statement to modern day femininity; in a superficial culture that states women are only beautiful when masked in paint, Beyoncé simply informs us that we are natural and don’t deserve to be hidden away like that. She never outwardly says that was her intention but in this instance it’s what is unsaid that counts.

Untitled1

While writing this article I wanted to find quotes from Beyonce about being an open feminist. I found this article about Beyoncé as a feminist and at first I thought the article was slating her feminism because of her willingness to pose in underwear for men’s magazines but Aisha Mirza is simply saying that we are all women on a journey and sometimes we do contradict ourselves, going against previous statements. That is a fair point! I mean we all take pictures of ourselves for Facebook/Twitter/Instagram but so do men. Women are no less provocative than men and that’s what’s misunderstood. I will never upload a picture of myself without makeup on for insecurity purposes and that’s my choice. I wear a bikini on holiday and I take care of my appearance but that doesn’t mean I am any less of a feminist than Germaine Greer.

This is the point I’m making here about modern day feminism. People assume it’s a lack of femininity but in fact it’s the complete opposite of that. Beyoncé talks about her “Run the World” performance in her documentary:

“Nobody knew I was pregnant during that performance, and I’m cool with that. I’m not interested in a free ride, but it absolutely proved to me that women have to work much harder to make it in this world. It really pisses me off that women don’t get the same opportunities as men do, or money, for that matter. Because let’s face it, money gives men the power to run the show. Its gives men the power to define our values, and to define what’s sexy and what’s feminine and that’s bullshit. At the end of the day, it’s not about equal rights, it’s about how we think. We have to reshape our own perception of how we view ourselves. We have to step up as women and take the lead and reach as high as humanly possible. That’s what I’m going to do. That’s my philosophy and that’s what Girls is all about.”

This quote is perfect in describing feminism from my point of view. If I want to take my clothes off, wear makeup, not wear makeup, wear a bikini on holiday, that’s my choice. The whole point of this view is that these are our bodies and it’s our decision what we do with them. The reason I write for this society changing magazine, the reason I have such strong convictions is because I am sick and tired of living in a society that tells women how to live.

Untitled2

Yes, Beyoncé wears revealing clothing, yes she wears makeup, yes she poses for magazines wearing just underwear…but these are all her decisions; choices she has made in a body owned by her and in a body she feels comfortable and whole within. I think she is incredibly inspiring and despite what people say, she is a positive role model to follow.

Feminism isn’t about becoming like men; it’s about ownership, independence and being defined by ourselves not others.

Melody has just finished a degree in Journalism, Film and Media with a 2:1. She aspires to work with vulnerable women and children subject to domestic, and or other forms of abuse. She is an animal lover and has a small obsession with Fearne Cotton. She is a constant joker and can be found on Twitter.

Leave a Reply

