So Long And Goodnight

29 Mar

You may or may not have heard by now that My Chemical Romance has split up. [Yes, I was that kind of teenager.]

When Catherine announced it on Facebook late Saturday night, it was already old news, but it was the first I’d heard about it and I was shocked, no really, I was inconsolable for about 15 minutes. Three Cheers For Sweet Revenge was a big part of the soundtrack to my life circa 2004-6 and upon reading the news the 14 year old me wasn’t the least bit happy.

And then I started to reminisce [as you do]. Watching the HD videos on YouTube was a far cry from originally watching them on the band’s site at a hideously low picture quality. Memories of Kerrang magazine and pull out posters were conjured in my head and I somehow ended up on MCR tag on tumblr. Boy is that place awash with emotions right now! Kids posting their favourite photos, lyrics, videos, songs, even photos of their own CD collection [one of which was superb: MCR, Sum 41, Green Day, Blink 182 and Fall Out Boy] and I thought to myself ‘wow, teens are young these days’. Lord know what I would be like if I had tumblr when I was younger [Freewebs was bad enough].

To me, MCR were the band whose lyrics you scrawled on the front of art books, diaries and arms. They taught me not to give a fuck and that that hellish thing called school would all be over soon. They meant a lot to me when I was younger [though I hasten to add I wasn’t one of those kids that did the whole ‘emo’ thing, with the fringe] I do not, for one minute, regret the amount of eyeliner I bought because of them.

My_Chemical_Romance_023

image from here

The above image was in sticker form on my art book. Ahhh memories…

So, here’s to you My Chemical Romance! You were brilliant and oh-so sassy. And to celebrate the end of things [of sorts] lets drink cheap champagne and listen to this playlist.

About the writer: Daisy is an irregular photographer, wannabe writer and full time female. In between tea and toast breaks she spends far too much time on the internet blogging, tumbling and tweeting. She is unapologetic in her love of the Spice Girls.

Leave a Reply

