Bad songs written by good people

20 Mar

There are wonderful songwriters out there. Most of the time the albums they put are excellent, full of well-written and brilliant songs that we find ourselves dancing to at work or singing along to in the shower.

On the other side of this musical coin however are the bad songwriters.  Most of the time the albums they put out are terrible and full of awful, awful songs that are lacklustre and clichéd. Unfortunately these people are all over the place and it makes me sad.

But hey! Such is life.

But then sometimes you get fabulous talented writers who make a mistake or two. This, dear readers, is the subject of today’s article, to give it it’s alternative title: wonderful people who’ve written a shit song or two.

I’m not the first person to be disappointed by a band or solo artist and I won’t be the last: these things happen. The best thing to do is ignore it and continue to listen to good music.

Or you could write a post about it and put it on your blog, it’s you call.

So, here is my choice at awful songs written by talented people.

Shiny Happy People –R.E.M. We’ve all been there and we know it’s terrible but it still somehow manages to get played on a regular basis. I know it’s bad, I really do but I freaking love this song. I’M NOT SORRY and I’m not ashamed to admit that I wholeheartedly enjoy this song and its feel good-ness.

Slow Love Slow –Nightwish. Boring.

In Perfect Harmony –Within Temptation. Oh god… I can’t listen to this without laughing and I know I shouldn’t be but I just can’t take it seriously. OK fine, I’ll recycle.

Revolution 9 –The Beatles. ??? My ears genuinely hurt after hearing that.

Landmines & Landslides/Mostly Memories/Let Her Go -Less Than Jake. We all know In With The Out Crowd isn’t the best LTJ album. I don’t even consider it to be one of their albums when really what happened was some alternate reality/parallel universe Less Than Jake released the album instead. Obviously. [Invasion of the Body Snatchers anyone?] These songs just merge into one long dull soundtrack if truth be told. However, after listening to it for the purposes of this article, I went and listened to Hello Rockview and now all is right with the world.

I Live To Fall Asleep –Manic Street Preachers. Similar to the LTJ problem, Lifeblood isn’t the Manics finest album [and that’s putting to mildly] but this song shines out as the worst. Actually, To Repel Ghosts is pretty shocking as well.

HONORABLE MENTION:

Cruising California (Bumpin’ In My Trunk) –The Offspring. I get that it’s a joke song, I understand that bit. I just don’t think it’s a very good parody song.

About the Writer: Daisy is an irregular photographer, wannabe writer and full time female. In between tea and toast breaks she spends far too much time on the internet bloggingtumbling and tweeting. She is unapologetic in her love of the Spice Girls.

Leave a Reply

