A Pointless Article

13 Feb

I always start off my articles by thinking to myself about the subject. Originally we were all given different sections of the magazine to focus on and up till now I have stuck to this. My section was ‘health’ but after reading more and more of our writer’s articles, I have decided to branch out and write more about what interests me.

The title may suggest that this article is pointless, but there is no article itself, only an explanation of who I am and what Yellow Bunting is and hopes to be. It started off with me lying in bed in my uni house one night thinking. I’d always found teenage girls’ magazines interesting, the way they speak to the girls and what they include within their magazines. When I was younger my sisters, a friend and I put together are own magazine, using cuttings from others and adding our own bits in. Looking back, I realised then that I love the act of creating and writing. And with my interest in teenage girl magazines, I thought that this would be the perfect opportunity to start my own.

If truth be told, I was also worried about having something to do when I finished university. There aren’t a lot of jobs but while I was going to keep applying, I needed something to do to keep my brain going in the meantime. I thought about this magazine and decided that as hard copies are limited and difficult to purchase, in the beginning I would remain online.

I was in uni doing English and I was interested in editing as a career so this would be perfect to not only do what I love (which is also editing and writing) but to also make something of it.

My ex wasn’t really all that supportive, he told me that he didn’t think it would work but my housemate and friend, Daisy, believed in it and offered to help. Through Daisy, Yellow Bunting has been named and launched; she has brought countless writers to the table and edits the articles every week. I am truly blessed to have her. There are often times where real life gets in the way and I don’t have time to give everything I have but Daisy is always there to put me back on track and to make sure I don’t give up on it.

This article, I guess is my way of explaining what Yellow Bunting is and how Daisy and I are involved. I am also extremely thankful for our team of writers, past and present, who have made my dream of owning my own magazine come true. To mention them (please let me know if you are missed out of the list, there’s just quite a few names!), Zdena, Daisy, Melody, Meg, Catherine, Sarah, Kera-anne, Si, Rubyyy, Nesrine, Stef, Alex, Bryony, Ellie, Beth and Tahnee. Without this great bunch, Yellow Bunting wouldn’t exist or work the way it does so well.

Finally, a new section of the magazine has also helped other areas of my life. I had always thought about running an agony aunt section but I didn’t want it to be boring, stereotypical teenage questions. I wanted it to be real, like the magazine is. Teenagers are old enough not to be looked down at; if they have a question then I will answer it with the most realistic answer possible. This helped the ‘wanting to help’ nature of my personality come through. Rubyyy is also the main force behind this section and has some very strong beliefs, (catch her interview earlier in issue 8).

Whether fat or thin, curvy or spotty, I hope that Yellow Bunting helps you to be less afraid about it. It is real life and these airbrushed to within an inch of their life other magazines don’t promote the right image in my opinion. This is why I created and work on Yellow Bunting, to show young women that it is alright to be yourself and that you don’t have to look or act a certain way just because the media and some people make it out to be better.

I hope you enjoy future articles and issues of Yellow Bunting, I certainly can’t wait to see where we go.

All my love,

Becky

 

About the Writer: Becky has just finished a degree in English and Creative Writing and is very happy with her 2:1. She is friendly, bubbly and just so happens to be the co-creator of Yellow Bunting. She hopes you enjoy it and that you get involved!

Leave a Reply

