New Year New Me

23 Jan

Happy New Year All! Usually my articles consist of feminist debates about everything and anything, but one of my new year’s resolutions is to be more positive about what I have, mainly for me to be happier. This caused a slight writers block for this issue, however, it was this new change that provided me with a topic…

My new year’s resolutions and the reasons surrounding them.

It’s funny really, the amount of common phrases used around the end of the year. Things like:

“Oh I’ll start it in the new year”

“There’s no point in doing it now, wait until January”

People’s New Year’s resolution lists usually consist of positive changes to be made. For example, to be kinder, to not take things for granted, to save more money, to lose weight (which is one of mine).

As a nation, I would go as far as saying we are collectively pretty depressed. Who can blame us though? When was the last time you saw/heard a positive news story? It’s always death, crime, and financial crises so it’s no wonder why people are so negative. This leads to my first resolution:

  1. Concentrate more on positive news articles – bad news is not good for you. It makes you think the worst is going to happen constantly, when the chances are slimmer than you think.

Speaking of slimmer, why is it that every January us girls commit to some diet or another to lose X number of pounds by X month? This is me included; I have been keeping fit and healthy eating for a good while now but come January I am being stricter and I’m expecting the weight to fly off in a week. I want to lose weight to just feel healthier, I’m never going to be thin and I’m happy about that! But still, it makes me impatient and, the same goes for my student overdraft. Since leaving university I’ve been saving really hard to turn my bank balance into a plus again. It’s getting there but I’m really impatient when I want things done. This leads me to my second resolution:

  1. Stop expecting things to happen overnight, be patient. Work hard, persist and the results will come.

I, like so many others, dwell on what I wish I had rather than being grateful for what I do have. I have a wonderful family, a great group of friends, and an amazing girlfriend. I have a job that pays the bills, it may not be the best job in the world (I hate it) but it’s not permanent and at least I have one. What don’t I have to be thankful for? I know it’s a cliché but there are literally people starving all over the world, there are people being abused, there are people losing their possessions…the list could go on but my point is think for a second about what you have that others don’t rather than the other way around.

  1. Stop getting depressed about such small things. Be grateful for what you have and hold onto the things that matter. Change the things you don’t like instead of complaining. If something makes you unhappy DO SOMETHING ABOUT IT.

Now, who remembers the 21st December 2012? Most people, because that was the date the world was going to end or supposedly aliens were going to descend onto earth and take over. It sounds so ridiculous and I’m ashamed to admit that I was worried about it. I’m a born worrier and I spent 2012 waiting for the world to explode and that’s 365 days I AM NEVER GOING TO GET BACK…that thought now scares me more than the thought of the world ending. I cannot even comprehend my own stupidity. For this waste of a year, my 4th resolution is:

  1. Stop living in fear of things, you have one life. Live it, don’t wait to die.

I’m going skydiving this year because of the last resolution. I have a fear of heights but I think it’s one of those experiences I will regret if I don’t do it. I’m bricking it but that’s part of the fun!

The point I’m trying to make by sharing this with you is that you have one life…just one. Live it, stop wasting your worries and fears over small things. I know I said I hate my job but it’s not forever and it pays the bills, which is more than I can say for other people. I was told a shocking fact recently by a friend from the internet (BBC article about Toby Ord’s pledge to charity http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-11950843 ) that if you earn £14,000 you are within the top 4% richest people in the world. Next time you say you’re skint think about that for a second, that’s a small wage but yet that’s rich compared to 96% of the population.

When I started writing for this magazine, I thought it was just going to be all about girl power and fighting for our rights, which it still is, but it’s also about so much more than that. It’s important to acknowledge our difficulties and to draw attention to sexism and negativities that women face on a daily basis, but it’s more important to bring about change. It’s about being a positive influence for other women. Don’t live in another person’s shadow, you were given skills that need to be used. Be grateful for what you have, but always push for what you want. Don’t settle for second best when you’re worth more. Everybody faces obstacles and difficulties in life, which goes without saying, but I’m going to finish by saying this…

Getting knocked down is life, getting back up again is living.

About the Writer: Melody has just finished a degree in Journalism, Film and Media with a 2:1. She aspires to work with vulnerable women and children subject to domestic, and or other forms of abuse. She is an animal lover and has a small obsession with Fearne Cotton. She is a constant joker and can be found on Twitter.

Leave a Reply

