In A Word

19 Jan

I’m the sort of girl who spends weeks compiling a list of New Year’s resolutions as long as my arm (and then only needs a few hours to break half of them), so when I saw Daisy’s post about picking a word to live by for the year I was intrigued. One solitary word to sum up all I want from this year? Was that even possible? Even the shortest of my resolutions clocked in at 2 words – ‘be healthier’ – which seemed so vague that I ended up writing a page of bullet points on what that actually meant. Short and to the point isn’t really something I know how to do.

I flicked through my lists of resolutions from the past three years hoping to find some sort of theme for inspiration. What I found was three virtually identical lists and this comment scrawled underneath last year’s list: “Two days in and I’ve already given up on half of my resolutions. Every year it’s ‘this will be the year’ and then when it isn’t I think ‘next year will be the year’ and even then it probably won’t be.

Well, you know what? This year will be the year because my word is NOW! I am a huge procrastinator and generally live by the mantra “leave it and see what happens”, but I’m at a point where if I choose to do nothing, nothing is exactly what’s going to happen. I know opportunities aren’t going to be handed to me on a plate, I even know what I need to be doing to get to where I want to be, all I need now is to do it.

It’s not a million miles away from Daisy’s ‘proactive’, so hopefully we can push each other to get out there are do what needs to be done. And maybe, just maybe, this time next year we’ll both be where we want to be. Fingers crossed!

About the writer: Catherine is a biology geek by day and cake baker by night. When she’s not in the kitchen you’ll be able to find her writing, tending to her tomato plant or curled up reading one of her many cookbooks.

One Response to “In A Word”

  1. pippastef 19/01/2013 at 11:38 pm #

    Now it is! 😉

Leave a Reply

