a word for 2013

18 Jan

At the beginning of the New Year, fabulous lifestyle blogger The Dame blogged about having a word that will inspire and push you for 2013. A word that will make you work harder [for the right reasons] and become a ‘guiding light’ of sorts, as she calls it.

And that got me thinking, ‘what would my word be?’. To pick just one would be tricky: one word to sum up what you want to do and focus on for a whole year. Hmmm…

Instantly words started racing around my head [some better than others]: creative, dependable, fabulous, positive, practical, focused. I soon realised that I needed something that would encompass all of these and that thinking of just one word was indeed, easier said than done!

I ultimately decided on proactive. I’m hoping it will be a reminder to me that nothing in life is free and things are seldom handed to you on a nice shiny platter. If you want something you have to go out and work damn hard for it.

Maybe this is the kick up the arse I need to get focused, get creative and get something done with my life. [Side note, I’m kinda at a loose end.] Not just to say things but act on them as well; actually start saving up for that tattoo, storyboard and map out that idea I have, meet up with friends more.

The ever-wonderful Hannah Hart has done a brilliant little video about how to be more productive. Needless to say it’s very sweet and I love it and y’know what? It actually works. Another Harto tip: make a ‘to done’ list and only write down the stuff you’ve ACTUALLY DONE. It’s so much better than a ‘to-do’ list as not even half of the list ever gets completed.

It’s important to have goals, be they long term, short term, daily, weekly, yearly, even hourly if you’re really up for a challenge! They’re a lot better than New Years resolutions, which as we all know are broken within the first 10 minutes of the New Year. Goals give you something to work towards and a time frame in which to achieve it. Resolutions are just words with no meaning.

So, this is the bit where I make a commitment to myself and you, dear people of the Internet. Cause if you say you’re gonna do something and put it on the Internet you HAVE to do it. So, here goes. [oh god I’m scared] My name’s Daisy and I will be more pro-active in 2013.

Phew. Well, wish me luck. I’ll keep you posted, you know, just in case something does actually happen.

What would your word for 2013 be?

proactive3

photo by Catherine

About the writer: Daisy is an irregular photographer, wannabe writer and full time female. In between tea and toast breaks she spends far too much time on the internet blogging, tumbling and tweeting. She is unapologetic in her love of the Spice Girls.

One Response to “a word for 2013”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Arts & Crafts | yellow bunting - 22/07/2013

    […] not anymore! Well, that’s the plan. If you remember, at the beginning of the year I decided my word for 2013 would be ‘proactive’ to encourage me to get up and do things! Well, […]

Leave a Reply

