long live the punk cabaret

4 Jan

This here playlist is an antidote to the lashings of Christmas music your ears may have heard over the past few weeks. As we’ve learned from my last article, I don’t hate festive music, but there can be such a thing as too much of it. And I fear I may have had too much of it.

But that’s ok, because I just say ‘cue the cabaret!’ and all becomes well. It’s fun, passionate, heartbreaking, entertaining, sometimes downright absurd and I love it.

My exploration into cabaret as I know it [neo-cabaret] began when someone [probably Catherine] played me some Dresden Dolls while we were still in school. I’d never heard anything like it and I instantly fell in love: the eerie, whispering vocals of Amanda Palmer could so easily turn harsh and raw and likewise, Brian Viglione’s drumming went from calm to aggressive very quickly. And it was damn good.

Sadly, I never got a chance to see them live but I recently saw Amanda Palmer in London and fell in love with her and the Dresden Dolls all over again. I can only imagine what a Dolls show felt like, but AFP was one of the best gig’s I’ve been to and I couldn’t believe it when RICHARD O’BRIEN showed up and sang the goddamn Time Warp!

Wow.

So with all of those reasons mixed up together I present to you, dear readers, my favourite punk/comedy/dark cabaret artists in an easy to listen to playlist form.

Amanda Palmer– Ukulele Anthem
Bitter Ruin– Outrageous
Joe Black– The Rumour Song
EastEnd Cabaret– Danger Wank
anything by Frisky and Manish. Particularly this. Oh and this.
Professor Elemental– I’m British
Jason Webley– Ways To Love
The Jane Austen Argument– Staying Single
Evelyn Evelyn– Elephant Elephant
Mr B. The Gentleman Rhymer– The Crack Song
The Tiger Lillies– Vagina
Dresden Dolls– Mandy Goes To Med School
La Poule Plombee– What Has The English? [though anything by Sarah Louise Young is good]


About the writer: Daisy is an irregular photographer, wannabe writer and full time female. In between tea and toast breaks she spends far too much time on the internet blogging, tumbling and tweeting. She is unapologetic in her love of the Spice Girls.

Leave a Reply

