Air on a G-String: Is it harmful?

6 Dec

‘In many cultures, human flatulence in public is regarded as embarrassing, but, depending on context, can also be considered humorous. People will often strain to hold in the passing of gas when in polite company, or position themselves to conceal the noise and scent. In other cultures[examples needed], it may be no more embarrassing than coughing.’Wikipedia

Flatulence. Or to put in normal everyday speak, farting. Go on, blush. You know you want to. It’s not nice, can have a bad smell and can cause serious embarrassment to the perpetrator but is it normal? Is there any need to actually be embarrassed or pretend that it isn’t you?

Recently I was out with a friend and with a bad stomach for the past few days I was hoping that all would be fine. However silent but deadly doesn’t even begin to describe what happened and I couldn’t even bear to admit that it was me especially when my friend said that she hoped she could eat her food when it came.

A random dodgy stomach every so often isn’t the worst thing in the world but does holding it in actually cause you harm? A few years ago when I had quite a few problems, a side effect was that I had bad wind. My friends would all lock me in rooms and hold the door shut while I sat there laughing, trying to hide my embarrassment. Yes it was disgusting for them but they never thought how difficult it was for me to actually go through it and my friends made me feel disgusting. I know they can smell and I’d be the first person to own up to opening a window when someone let’s one off but it’s not always the person’s fault and while everyone can have a laugh at the eggy smells, don’t go too over the top because they can’t always help it.

It actually used to cause me a physical pain when I tried to keep it in and possible made it worse. So what does happen when you try and hold in those wafters? Take a look at this but if any of it is even remotely true, I’d rather a tiny risk of my

friends noticing a little smell then I would the ‘pathological distention of the bowel’ or ‘hemorrhoids’.

screenshot from here

screenshot from here

About the writer: Becky has just finished a degree in English and Creative Writing and is very happy with her 2:1. She is friendly, bubbly and just so happens to be the co-creator of Yellow Bunting. She hopes you enjoy it and that you get involved!

Leave a Reply

