Bullying

28 Nov

Ah, bullying. How sucky you really are. Character building, but sucky.

Being bullied is a horrible thing. I count myself lucky in that my bullying wasn’t terrible [ie- no physical bullying] but there were always people that I could count on to bring me down and make fun of me. Thanks, guys.

It all started in secondary school *cue flashback music* Ergh. Honestly, you show one iota of individuality and enthusiasm for history and all of a sudden these kids pounce on you for being different and a bit of a geek.

We got bullied by some kids that we called ‘chavs’ but I’m sure there are lots of other names for them. They did the normal name calling: ‘geek’, ‘nerd’, ‘loser’ and ‘greebo’ which always tickled me cause it’s not to dissimilar from ‘greeb’ which is a bird. [For those wondering, [and because I’m old and have no idea if this word is in use anymore] a ‘greebo’ in colloquial terms was the name given to someone who didn’t listen to R N’ B/rap/pop but preferred rock music.]

I’m trying to think of the worse thing that happened to me at school and like I say, my bullying wasn’t so bad. Other people had it much worse. It was never one big thing, just lots of little ones. There were lots of put downs, bitchy snide remarks about my appearance and my musical persuasion and for some weird reason, most of them thought they were superior to me in some way. I could never figure that one out. [Don’t get me wrong, I never thought I was better than they were, I just wonder what made them think what they did.]

I’ll tell you a funny thing. It happened during my last year of school so I guess I was 17/18. By this time there was no bullying in my life and the school had just had a reshuffle so we were all in new tutor group. In each tutor there would be 2-4 pupils from each year, [7, 8, 9, 10, etc] and I swear to god these kids get cockier every year as we had some year 8 chavs try to bully us! To be fair, they were trying to use a TV as a mirror to do their make up in and I may have quietly laughed at the ridiculousness of the situation but one of them started mouthing off at me. A few ‘fucks’ were said, something about how I was stupid for not wearing make up but my god it was hilarious. A part of me though ‘crickey, this is what my 14 year old self found intimidating?’ *sighs* Happy days…

But on a more serious note. My advice? Don’t change. Never change who you are just because someone with an inferiority complex wants you to. You are marvellous, you are wonderful, you are unique just the way you are. One day school will end, but your life will go on. This is when real life starts. You’ll go to college/university or get a job. You will meet lots of new interesting people who like you the way you are. You will grow up and look back on this time in your life with perspective and realise you did nothing wrong.

About the Writer: Daisy is an irregular photographer, wannabe writer and full time female. In between tea and toast breaks she spends far too much time on the internet blogging, tumbling and tweeting. She is unapologetic in her love of the Spice Girls.

Leave a Reply

