Top Trends

9 Nov

I try not to wear the latest, most ‘hottest’ new fashion frenzies, as I like to set my own individual style stamp on the world. However, that doesn’t mean I don’t like to follow it! I always have my nose pressed firmly to the high street, taking a look at the latest, most popular lines! So here’s what I sniffed out!

Peplum Dresses:

The world has gone crazy for these recycled beauties. I say recycled as they seem to keep popping up! Like the Mike Tyson of dresses, originating from Greece, they were a huge hit in the early 1940’s then, after a 40 year break, blew up again in the 80’s, and now as popular as ever, they are back!

There is no surprise at their charm as they give an amazing silhouette, creating tiny waists and hourglass figures. There is a massive range out there, from extreme couture to basic but effective. They certainly get a thumbs up from me.

 

Block heel platforms.

Now I am a HUGE fan of these, and although I’m pretty sure they will indeed go out of fashion as quickly as they came in, I have still started my own little collection! They are edgy, stylish and can be dressed up or down. They’re also surprisingly comfy! At the right price of course!

PU Skinny Jeans.

These seem to have the marmite effect on a lot of people. And I love marmite 🙂 Again, these shiny beauties have a real edgy appeal. With the ability to be worn with an oversized jumper and flats for a smart casual look by day, then teamed up with a sheer top and killer heels for an eye catching night time look, these jeans are a bit fab! With a range of colors,  they suit many different shapes, sizes and styles. A real statement piece must have.

Cigarette trousers.

This has been a real turning point for me as, up until VERY recently, I point blank despised these things! However, it seems I have been converted! And it’s all down to one fashionista that I met this month, who I shall not name as I’m totally jealous of her and don’t want to admit it! The various styles and patterns that are constantly popping up are great! A look for every occasion. Such a smart, sophisticated garment! Two thumbs up from me!

So, what’s your latest fashion fancy?

www.topshop.com

www.missselfridge.com

www.boohoo.com

www.internacionale.com

www.office.co.uk

www.riverisland.com

www.dorothyperkins.com

www.hm.com

About the writer: Alex is a drama graduate and self taught photographer. She started out by photographing her friends unique style and was soon approached by others wanting to be shot by her. She has recently been offered representation and has been listed as a photographer for Vogue Italia. You can find her on twitter, facebook and her website.

2 Responses to “Top Trends”

  1. Monday's Child 09/11/2012 at 11:02 am #

    Great blog, love the peplum dresses

    http://www.angelasteed.wordpress.com

    • Alexandria Reynolds 09/11/2012 at 11:42 pm #

      Thanks lady 🙂 Peplum dresses are such an effortless way to give yourself a glam makeover! I love em! X

Leave a Reply

