A Spot of Bother

24 Oct

I don’t know about you but I’m now 21 and still suffer from breakouts. It’s not as if I’m unhygienic or anything, it’s just that when I get stressed they appear in their droves. I know I don’t have the best diet in the world but it doesn’t happen constantly, I get good days and bad weeks! My main focus in this article is to figure out the myths behind acne such as bullying traits of scrawny greasy teenagers serving your fast food covered in spots.

I’m not overly hygienic, I don’t shower every day but every other day and yes sometimes after nights out I just leap into bed without taking my makeup off or brushing my teeth but I don’t cover my face in dirt, so much so that it causes these eruptions to appear every few weeks. What is with the idea that people with spots are unhygienic anyway? Yes, I understand that spots come from your pores becoming clogged up with dirt etc. but I know people who are extremely hygienic and suffer yet others who don’t really bother looking after their skin, totally spot free.

What is really annoying is these spot adverts. ‘Oh no, how am I ever going to go to said party with this tiny hardly visible mark?!’ Not only is this giving people a complex but also is extremely exaggerated when there is nothing there! People suffer from much worse and they still go on living their everyday lives! These adverts are once again promoting that life is based on your looks, not the best idea.
Spots aren’t the be all and end all of everything but here are some tips that the experts (with comments by myself) suggested to keep your face pimple free!

• Drink plenty of water – this is probably very good for your health but I personally don’t and my skin can be clear

• Eat a healthy diet, make sure to get lots of vitamins and minerals and avoid greasy and sugary foods. This article has loads of great tips about which foods to eat to keep your skin looking and feeling healthy! Like biology geek Catherine says, keep everything in moderation, a slice of cake or a pack of sweets every now and again won’t kill you.

• Don’t burst them as the bacteria spreads – this does make sense but sometimes you can’t just help yourself!

• Don’t wear makeup – I couldn’t live without wearing makeup, I personally would be self conscious all of the time. Not that I am promoting hiding yourself but this is my personal decision. I would suggest that you wear makeup whenever you want, to cover up any blemishes that you want but make sure that you always take it off at night and where possible, have a few free days or a few hours every so often.

This article is trying to make you self conscious about your skin. Rather, trying to help you enjoy clean and healthy skin but at the same time, don’t worry about your looks, it will hurt you in more ways than one. Just enjoy yourself and look after yourself 🙂

About the Writer: Becky has just finished a degree in English and Creative Writing and is very happy with her 2:1. She is friendly, bubbly and just so happens to be the co-creator of Yellow Bunting. She hopes you enjoy it and that you get involved!

Leave a Reply

