Guilty Pleasures

3 Sep

Cross posted to Daisy’s blog

Who doesn’t have a guilty pleasure? Answer: no one, we all do. It may just be a few songs; a whole album or you could be totally in love with an artists’ entire back catalogue: but this thing is universal. Though most of the time we desperately try and hide these songs from EVERYONE. But not today my friends, no today I’m going to share with you my deepest guilty pleasures. Enjoy.

Gwen Stefani: Love.Angel.Music.Baby. What is it about this album that I love? No really: what is a Hollaback Girl? Who is she and what does she do? What is this song about? Why is it so catchy? Why do I like it? And why is Gwen teaching us to spell bananas? [True story, I heard someone singing it once, obviously they didn’t know how to spell bananas: ‘B-A-N-A-N-A-N-A-N-a-n-a-n-a-n…’]
Why is there not one but TWO SONGS that provide driving metaphors as euphemisms for sex? And what’s with the lame medicinal references in another weird love something? IT’S BEEN 8 YEARS GWEN AND I STILL DON’T UNDERSTAND MOST OF YOUR ALBUM!

James Morrison: Wonderful World. It’s catchy, easy to listen to and slightly epic towards the end. Yeah sure some of the lyrics are a bit shit but I can overlook that for once cause its such a fun song.

Travie McCoy feat. Bruno Mars: Billionaire. You know what, this songs speaks to me- I do want to be a billionaire, so fucking bad. You’d think a song named ‘Billionaire’ would tell a tale of selfish exploits, but no, this song is pretty fucking sweet in that sense. And who knows, maybe one day when these boys do indeed become billionaires they’ll stand by what they sung all those years ago…

Plan B: She Said. It’s not so much the verses that I like- cause rap sucks- as the chorus. Plus it’s kinda funny listening to this high pitched singing turning into a relatively low pitched rap.

Katy Perry: Last Friday Night. Oh Katy, you’re so annoying and your music is horrible but I do love this song. This is the Friday night I want to witness and laugh at. [So long as Rebecca Black doesn’t turn up. She’s not invited.]

William Orbit: Barber’s Adagio For Strings. Definitely not my normal kind of thing as I HATE dance music, but this is spectacular, sampling the classic song from the ‘30s and trancing it up a bit. Nicely done. Where my glowsticks at?

Kelly Clarkson: My Life Would Suck Without You. Cause it really would. It’s so cheesy and lame but my god is it good. Some friends and I did it at karaoke once [not in public mind] and it was a glorious sight to behold.

Taio Cruz: Dynamite. I just like it. And not least because it appears in this awesome mash up. PUMP UP THE VOLUME and let’s dance.

The Rasmus: In The Shadows. Brings back memories of being in year 9 and the corresponding summer… Ahh memories. One thing I never understood was the frontmanguy with the feathers in his hair. Looked like a blackbird had got lost in it and died. Needless to say this is an awful song but I very much love it.

Who or what are your guilty pleasures?

About the Writer: Daisy is an irregular photographer, wannabe writer and full time female. In between tea and toast breaks she spends far too much time on the internet blogging, tumbling and tweeting. She is unapologetic in her love of the Spice Girls.

Leave a Reply

