Music Reviews

17 Aug

A round up of recent[ish] music releases. Some good, some bad, one naked: enjoy.

In This Moment ‘Blood’ No, no, NO! Terrible song: a truly awful chorus, boring music and creepy masochistic verses, “I love you for never believing in what I say, I love you for never once giving me my way” what the hell kind of lyric is that? It’s a dark song- that much is fucking obvious- but ITM have done dark before and been so good at it- This Moment, Next Life, Standing Alone- so what happened?! And the video… Visually it’s ok, a bit freaky and medicinal but it works. Those weird hand moves during the chorus however, do nothing for me. Less focus on nakey Maria, more focus on writing good songs. 0/5

‘Blood’ single and album are out now

Nick 13 ‘Carry My Body Down’ I thoroughly enjoyed Nick 13’s debut album and this single is no exception. The man is a master songwriter and it really shows here. The song has a beautiful melancholia to it with the imagery conjured up by the lyrics being that of tragedy with a sense of questioning and searching, “will dreams fall down around us, just like the winter snow?”. It’s a wonderfully crafted song with a strong bass line, haunting vocals and striking guitar work. The video’s pretty decent too. 5/5

‘Carry My Body Down’ and ‘Nick 13’ are both out now

Amanda Palmer ‘Want It Back’ Very catchy, in a good way; it’s like being punched in the face by a song (if songs could punch you in the face that is.) It’s loud, fast and utterly marvellous. The lyrics, sung at almost rap speed, come out of nowhere and joined with percussion and piano, seem to assault your senses. (Well, your ears at the very least.) There’s just no escape from it, but that’s not a bad thing. The song does have some glorious, if not strange, lyrics, “with your wreckingbally necklace, I saw it first and I crushed it with my handfist.” The only thing is the repetition of the word ‘away’ at the end of the chorus and how it’s sung: annoying. 4/5

‘Want It Back’ is out now. ‘Theatre Is Evil’ is available from 10th September

No Doubt ‘Settle Down’ No Doubt are back: YEAH! I don’t really know what I was expecting with this song- would they carry on the sound from Rock Steady, go back to their Tragic Kingdom era or would it be something completely different? Well, whatever I wasn’t expecting, I enjoyed it: a well-written song with some inspiring lyrics and ska infused up strokes. Now here’s my ‘beef’, as it were, with this song: the into and outro. Far too long and boring- nothing happens! They’ve wasted a third of the song on noise. I wouldn’t mind if it was some form of brass solo or guitar riffs but it’s not. True story though: when Gwen’s singing, “I’m a rough and tough” she’s NOT singing “I’m a rubber duck” like I first thought… 3/5

‘Settle Down’ is out now. ‘Push and Shove’ is available from 25th September

 

About the writer: Daisy is an irregular photographer, wannabe writer and full time female. In between tea and toast breaks she spends far too much time on the internet blogging, tumbling and tweeting. She is unapologetic in her love of the Spice Girls.

Leave a Reply

