Music For Your Mood

28 Jul

Whatever mood you are in, music always helps. I personally am always listening to music, I’ve even been known to sing in my sleep! I can think of nothing better when I’m upset then a little bit of Miley Cyrus – The Climb to cheer me up. But sometimes you don’t want to be cheered up, so what do you listen to then? So this article is about the right kinds of music for YOU, and how YOU feel, not what society tells you to listen to. Don’t get me wrong, I’m a sucker for the charts, but don’t you ever just want to listen to someone tell you it’s okay to be depressed rather than listen to someone tell how good they are in bed, or how sexy they are? Or even want to know the best tunes to keep you in that amazing mood you’ve been in all week, or the best songs to get ready for that big night out in town to? Then this is the place for you.

photo from here

The “I’m Sad, Someone Be Sad With Me!” Mood.

Everyone has these moods, so you need to know the right songs to sob along to. Some of my favourite more famous ones have to be ‘All By Myself’- Jamie O’Neal, ‘You Could Be Happy’ – Snow Patrol and ‘Please Stay’ – Westlife. Some others are ‘My Immortal’ – Evanescence, ‘Everybody Hurts’ – Avril Lavigne.

 

The “F**k You, You Broke My Heart” Mood.

Now, a couple of these songs might be more “I wish I’d done it to you first” but it makes you feel better so who cares! My personal favourite one for this mood is ‘Break Your Little Heart’ – All Time Low. I also love ‘Screw You’ – Cheryl and ‘Ur So Gay’ – Katy Perry, don’t get me wrong, I’m not supporting the homophobic language used a bit in this song, but I think she means more you act gay but you don’t like boys instead of its a bad thing to be gay. Also, another of Katy’s songs good for this kind of mood is ‘Circle The Drain’ or ‘Wide Awake’.

 

The “Worst Day Ever, Cheer Me Up!” Mood.

I like nothing better than to come home after the worst day ever and just cry, but sometimes you can’t. You’ve just got too much to do so you have to get over it and move on. Some oldies are usually quite good for this, like The Beatles have a few good ones, for instance ‘Lady Madonna’, ‘Here Comes The Sun’, ‘All You Need Is Love’ and ‘A Hard Day’s Night’. I also love ‘Labelled With Love’ – Squeeze. But for a more modern cheer up, I like to listen to ‘What The Hell’ – Avril Lavigne.

 

The “Best Day In The World, Nothing Could Bring Me Down” Mood.

This type of music is PERFECT for a girls night in! If you like the old music, 90s tunes or modern dance there is always music for this mood! For starters, I think Disney music can always be good for this. When I was on holiday in Disneyland, Paris I heard a song called ‘Dancin (A Catchy Rhythm)’ – Joey Diggs & Sue Ann Carwell which always puts me in the best mood ever! I love it!

 

About the writer: Beth is a music enthusiast as in she listens to music all day, everyday. When she’s not raving in her room she’s reading, working, tweeting or hanging out with her friends. Working towards being a film director, music producer or English teacher, Beth is currently studying media and literature along with more diverse subjects.

Leave a Reply

